The Branford Boase Award - shortlist 2020



The shortlist for the 2020 Branford Boase Award has been announced.

Main News Story

​Since 2000, the Branford Boase has been awarded annually to the author of an outstanding debut novel for children. Uniquely, it also honours the editor of the winning title and highlights the importance of the editor in nurturing new talent.

Founded to commemorate author Henrietta Branford and influential Walker Books editor Wendy Boase, the Branford Boase Award is recognised as one of the most important awards in children’s books with an impressive record in identifying outstanding authors at the start of their careers. Winners and shortlisted authors include Siobhan Dowd, Meg Rosoff, Mal Peet, Philip Reeve, Frank Cottrell Boyce, Frances Hardinge, Patrick Ness and Marcus Sedgwick.

The shortlist for the 2020 award is as follows:

- Little Badman and the Invasion of the Killer Aunties 
  Author: Humza Arshad & Henry White

- The Space We’re In
  Author: Katya Balen

- A Pocketful of Stars
  Author: Aisha Bushby

- Bearmouth
  Author: Liz Hyder

- A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder
  Author: Holly Jackson

- Frostheart
  Author & Illustrator: Jamie Littler

- The Million Pieces of Neena Gill
  Author: Emma Smith-Barton

For more information, please visit here.

Contact Details

Related Link

Created at 11/05/2020 14:11 by Jemma.Gillard
Last modified at 11/05/2020 14:23 by Jemma.Gillard