​​​​​​​The Governing Board

This school is a voluntary aided school in the trusteeship of the Clifton Diocese and is reconstituted in line with statutory guidance from 26 January 2015.  There are 12 Governors appointed:

  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 LA Governor
  • 2 Staff Governors (including the Headteacher)
  • 7 Foundation Governors

What do Governors do?

All state funded primary, secondary and special schools are accountable to their boards of Governors and they are accountable to parents, the community and for maintained schools the Local Authority (LA).

The Governing Board is a corporate entity and is the school's accountable body with responsibility for the conduct of the school and promoting high standards of educational achievement.  They have three core functions and six key features of effective governance. 


The Governors are responsible for fulfilling the three core functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

The key features of effective governance as set out in the Governance Handbook are:

  • Strategic Leadership - that sets and champions vision, ethos and strategy
  • Accountability - that drives up educational standards and financial performance
  • People - with the right skills, experience, qualities and capacity
  • Structures - that reinforce clearly defined roles and responsibilities
  • Compliance - with statutory and contractual requirements
  • Evaluation - to monitor and improve the quality and impact of governance
Full Governing Board Minutes
Please see below approved minutes from the Full Governing Board Meetings this academic year. 
FGB 23.09.19

School Governors


Chair of Governors: Christopher Jarvis  

Vice Chair: Helen Scott


  Clerk to Governors: Siana Frampton 



   Richard Simmonds


Foundation Governors

 Bernadette Simmons, Christopher Jarvis, 

Pat Payton and Helen Scott

+ Vacancies

LA Governor
Catherine Christie


Parent Governors

Estera Jedrzejewska


Staff Governor

Rachel Pimm


Associate Members (Non-Voting)

Melanie Moyse and Alison Setter


​Governor's Details and Attendance


Please see further information on terms of office, business interests, responsibilities and appointing body in the document below.


Governing Board Details and Business Interests 2019-20

​​​Attendance 2018-19.pdf